(Photo by Christopher Polk/Getty Images for FYF)

© Getty
(Picture by Christopher Polk/Getty Pictures for FYF)

Missy Elliott has change into the primary feminine rapper to be nominated for the 2019 Songwriters Corridor of Fame.

The hip-hop legend, who has penned tunes for artists together with Aaliyah, Whitney Houston, Beyonce, and Monica, joins fellow performers Mariah Carey, Jimmy Cliff, Chrissie Hynde, Vince Gill, Seaside Boys co-founder Mike Love, and the Eurythmics’ Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart amongst these up for induction subsequent 12 months.

Obtain the Microsoft Information app on your Android or iPhone gadget and get information & reside updates on the go.

Cat Stevens, now often called Yusuf Islam, Jeff Lynne of the Electrical Gentle Orchestra, people artist John Prine, R&B singer Lloyd Value, and rocker Tommy James are additionally shortlisted for the honour, in accordance with The Related Press.

READ  Sri Lanka vs England first ODI: UK begin time, date, prediction, TV channel, fixtures

(Photo by Paras Griffin/WireImage)

© Getty
(Picture by Paras Griffin/WireImage)

In the meantime, George Strait collaborator Dean Dillon, Jack Tempchin, who wrote Eagles traditional Peaceable Straightforward Feeling, and Dallas Austin, who crafted chart hits for the likes of TLC, Madonna, Pink, Monica, and Boyz II Males, are featured nominees within the non-performing class, and the non-performing songwriting duos up for recognition embrace P.F. Sloan and Steve Barri, Russell Brown and the late Irwin Levine, and Dean Pitchford and Michael Gore.

READ  Kell Brook vs Michael Zerafa: Prediction, undercard, LIVE stream, UK start time, odds - what you'd know

The Class of 2019 might be introduced early subsequent 12 months, and the chosen few might be welcomed into the Songwriters Corridor of Fame on the organisations’ 50th annual Induction and Awards Gala in New York on 13 June (19).

The nomination information marks the second consecutive 12 months Mariah Carey, Chrissy Hynde, and reggae star Jimmy Cliff have been shortlisted.

(Photo by Santiago Felipe/WireImage)

© Getty
(Picture by Santiago Felipe/WireImage)

Artists are solely eligible for induction after at the very least 20 years since writing their first hit.

READ  Trump falsely claims courtroom memos clear him as prosecutors reveal how his associates repeatedly lied over Russia

Missy Elliott, recognized for her solo hits Work It, Lose Management, and Get Ur Freak On, is barely the third rapper to be nominated for the Songwriters Corridor of Fame – JAY-Z first made historical past when he was recognised, and subsequently inducted, in 2017, whereas Jermaine Dupri turned the second hip-hop star honoured this 12 months (18).

John Mellencamp, Alan Jackson, Kool & the Gang, and Steve Dorff, the musician father of actor Stephen Dorff, have been additionally inducted as a part of the Class of 2018.

Associated: Feminine Rappers From the ’90s: The place Are They Now? [Wonderwall]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here